Call Commodore Yachting02392 504443

International Certificate of Competence and CEVNI

Charter abroad with the ICC and CEVNI

About the ICC

The International Certificate of Competence (ICC) is a test of competence and provides the student with an internationally recognised qualification accepted in many but not all countries. The ICC is required for charterers and boat owners in Europe, where  recognised certificates are increasingly required to confirm the skipper reaches an internationally agreed level of competence. Sometimes a higher certification such as Day Skipper or Yachtmaster will be requested especially for larger boats.

The ICC assessment takes one day and the fee is £250.00 for 1 person, £350.00 for 2 people or £500.00 for 3-4 people. The fee includes mid week charter of one of our Bavaria yachts and services RYA assessor for the day. Please contact us and we can arrange your assessment to suit your availability.

Alternatively join one of our Solent sailing weekends and pay just £199.00 low season / £220.00  high season per person.

About the CEVNI Test

You can book a CEVNI Test by following the link on the right hand side of this page. The on-line test is taken through through the RYA’s eLearning website, RYA Interactive. Commodore Yachting will provide an instructor who will be on hand to help with queries before the test. When you book your test on-line you will be asked to complete a booking form. Once we have received your completed form we can log you onto the on-line test through the RYA Interactive website and send you the access information

You will have the opportunity to take a practice test before being given two attempts to pass the CEVNI Test. When you have successfully passed the CEVNI Test you will be able to download your certificate.

Please note that RYA Interactive registration is not an automated process. We will do this as speedily as possible but there may be a delay if you make your booking out of office hours or over a weekend.



About the ICC

An ICC allows the holder to voyage internationally but only where the country to be visited has chosen to accept it and subject to any prescriptions made by the visited country.

The ICC, or higher certification, is required for charterers and boat owners in Europe, where  recognised certificates are increasingly required to confirm the skipper reaches an internationally agreed level of competence.

Commodore Yachting run one day assessments where students are assessed for the ICC. The purpose is to provide documentary assurance from one government to another that the holder meets an agreed level of competence.

You will be expected to have navigation and sailing experience to a minimum of Day Skipper level prior to taking the assessment.  The one-day exam will test you on navigation, sailing and boat handling skills, safety, yacht preparation and rules of the road. You might like to consider taking a Day Skipper course instead of the ICC assessment. During the course you will be taught all practical aspects of  the Day Skipper syllabus and assessed on your competence. You can then apply for an ICC without any further assessment.

An ICC is valid for 5 years from the date of issue.

Contact us for dates.

ICC application form



You will need proof of your UK residential address although you do not have to be a UK citizen to be awarded an ICC. There is a charge of £46.00 for the licence, free for RYA members.

The minimum age to take the ICC or CEVNI test is 16.

CEVNI test

CEVNI test

You take this online through RYA Interactive or at our training centre.

A valid ICC is often required for cruising Europe’s inland waters. To validate your ICC (International Certificate of Competence) for inland waters you must take the CEVNI test, which checks your knowledge of the rules and signs that skippers of pleasure craft are expected to know and follow.

The RYA ICC CEVNI test is a multiple choice paper.

The “RYA European waterways regulations (the CEVNI rules explained)” publication G17 provides the information you need to learn the code in a clear and concise way – a sample paper can be found at the back of the book.

Spread the word:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone
Gloucestershire Web Designers